A Zombie Holiday Season

It’s the Holiday Season, and over Thanksgiving (I was away with mysteriously elusive Wi-Fi; it was the night before we left that we caught it), and I began to ponder – partly in response to my last cynical post – reasons to be grateful during these Holidays. And, being obsessed with the mid-season finale of The Walking Dead as I am, I began to ponder the following:

The Holiday Thanksgiving Gratitude List for Zombies:

  1. Chet’s nuts roasting over an open fire.[1]
  2. The midnight Black Friday sales All You Can Eat Buffet at the L.A. Walmart. (Pepper Spray assault over an X-Box, really? Ladies and Gentlemen, our first Zombie Bait Hall of Famer.)
  3. Sneaking into Santa’s bag for a midnight snack at the Goldman Sachs Investment manager residence of your choice. (Santa knows Zombies serve a purpose too; for details see the 2011 Zombie Bait list).
  4. For neophyte Zombies, realizing frostbite is just no longer an issue.
  5. Saving all that money on unneeded SPF.

Really folks, that’s all I’ve gotten so far. I’m still working on it.
Comments and suggestions are indeed welcome.

Speaking of Zombie and The Walking Dead, one comment I have. I haven’t been reading the discussion boards, so I don’t know if anyone else has brought this up. If someone has seen it and would please post a link, I’d appreciate it.  Also, as a warning, I didn’t have access to AMC for the original airing of the mid-season finale, so if this did come up, I’ll know at 10 pm tonight when I believe it will be re-aired.

In the episodes following the discovery of the Zombie Barn, a moral argument arose between Herschel[2] and Dale about keeping the Zombies. I believe Hershel and Rick have a similar conversation. The argument is whether or not the Zombies are sick humans, and it’s more humane to keep them alive while waiting for a treatment, or are they lethal monsters who need to be destroyed to protect survivors.

What I haven’t seen in the argument is the question of if it’s humane to keep them alive even if you do see them as sick humans. Going by the first few episodes of the first season, I think we can say that Rick sees the moral complexity in this, when he shoots the half-woman in the park. She’s not a threat at all, so when he apologizes, saying “I’m sorry this had to happen to you,” then shoots her, it’s an act of compassion. So, then are Hershel and his step-daughter keeping the Zombies “alive” for a selfish and even cruel reason: because they can’t bear to let their loved ones go? After all, who would want to be kept a live like that? Who would want to be that kind of risk to their loved ones, or even strangers?

Daryl has turned out to be a remarkable character, and the kind of person I think of when I think of the good kind of rednecks, and the kind I hope my father was when he was young.  He may have a potty mouth, and he may even have a confederate flag plate on the front of his pick-up, but he’s heart always points in the direction of compassion and forgiveness, he always knows the right thing, he’s loyal to the end, reliable. He also has stainless steel you-know-what. I like that in a man. As Dale pointed out, before jumping to conclusions about Rick’s feelings on race, one needs to remember how many times he’s bailed T-dog out. Don’t tell my husband, but I think I have a crush on a fictional character. I really need to do something about that kind of thing; some people think it may not be too healthy. I can’t imagine why.


[1] Thank hubby for that one. Now you all know why I married him.

[2] I’ve been to the AMC cast site twice to get the correct spelling of this character’s name and the step-daughter’s. I can’t get it. I’m a little puzzled that the character of Morgan is still up there after disappearing so early in Season One. He was great in Jericho, although the second-season writers really cheated his character of some great development.

