Let me tell you what a “money maker” is

So, I was listening to Thomas Rhett’s “Get Me Some of That” and I got pissed.

Now, there’s Maddie & Tae’s “Girl in a Country Song” that addresses this painful trend of late where male-pov country songs present an ideal that isn’t what it used to be.

But, as Rhett was crooning to his neo-country hit “Shake that Money Maker,” me and my little keyboard had just had enough.  I figured Maddie & Tae, though wonderful, weren’t enough.

This is my contribution:


One more country song
I swear he’s got it all wrong.

Saving all his lyrical pearls
For just the pretty girls.

Telling them to shake their money-maker
Singing it to the world.

I’d had enough, made me want to scream
Made me want to get a guitar and sing

Fella don’t you know how it is
Don’t you even know what a money-maker is?

Shaking my money-maker when I use my head
Shaking my money-maker when I earn my bread
I shake my money-maker all day into the night
I’ve been shakin’ it to make it my whole life long
When you gonna write my country song?

Every time I teach your kids to spell
Every time I make your mama well

When I fight for right over wrong
When I keep your house lights on

Clothing my kids, Cooking their meals,
Fixing my home, hagglin’ deals

Shaking my money-maker when I use my head
Shaking my money-maker when I earn my bread
I shake my money-maker all day into the night
I’ve been shakin’ it to make it my whole life long
When you gonna write my country song?

Slinging these hash and eggs
Ten hours straight on tired, sturdy legs.

Working, studying in school for years
To leave my mark when I’m gone from here

No matter the jobs that come my way
I gotta be twice as good for less the pay

Shaking my money-maker when I use my head
Shaking my money-maker however I earn my bread
I shake my money-maker all day into the night
I’ll be shakin’ it to make it my whole life long
I’m still waiting for my country song.

E. Blalock


 

And that, ladies and gentleman, is what MY mama taught me being a Southern Belle was all about.

 

Please leave a reply. I enjoy and appreciate comments. All comments are moderated. before being posted; please let me know if you want to keep your comment private (I will read it, but it will not be posted to the blog). Thank you.

